State’s best teachers to help shape education plans

State’s best teachers to help shape education plans

Some of the best teachers in NSW recently met at Parliament House to share ideas on improving learning outcomes for students, cutting red tape and increasing the time and resources teachers have to deliver the best education for students.

Premier Dominic Perrottet said the inaugural meeting had established a Teacher Advisory Group - one of several unique initiatives giving teachers, principals, and students a direct voice in education policy.

“It’s so important we hear from a wide variety of stakeholders, particularly those considered the best in their profession, to help shape the future of education in our state,” Perrottet said.

“We can benefit from their experience and ideas on ways of better supporting their profession to modernise and grow.”

The roundtable participants included teachers from government, Catholic, and independent schools, and featured a mix of primary and high schools across metro and regional areas, varying school sizes and cultural backgrounds.

NSW Education Minister Sarah Mitchell said the Teachers Advisory Group would bring diverse expertise and perspectives into the education decision-making process.

“I have been focused on increasing the time and resources teachers have to deliver a great education for their students,” Mitchell said.

“This group will help refine the work already under way and develop additional opportunities to slash the time teachers spend beyond their core duties.”

With the Minister’s Student Council (DOVES) giving a voice to students and the newly formed Ambassador Schools Principal Advisory Group giving a voice to principals, the Teacher’s Advisory Group will provide the final piece of the puzzle – the teacher voice.

The 10 schools represented at the Best in School Teacher Roundtable included:

  • Warilla High School
  • Quakers Hill High School
  • Windsor South Public School
  • Arcadia Public School
  • St John The Apostle Catholic Primary School Narraweena
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour
  • Al-Faisal College Auburn
  • Arden Anglican School

This article originally appeared as a media release on the NSW Department of Education’s website.